RSS Feed

Fame!

Posted on

I’m feeling a little bit proud and famous today! Because…. knit and natter was featured in the BBC news! Check this out:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-26819241

Well done us knit and natter’rs, we are now officially on the map as it were 🙂

Woolly planes

On a mezzanine floor above the entrance, a group has gathered for a “knitting, crochet and woolly fun” session.

“This gets me to the library more often and I do come in a few hours early sometimes to look through the books,” says Anna Magpie, 23, from Erdington.

One bonus is being able to use the library bookshelves to find knitting patterns “as you need them”, she says.

“It has given me more access – I’m much more able to go and pick up a Wordsworth or a Dante than if I had to go to Erdington library, which is very small and not always open.”.

The group is busy making woolly versions of World War One era planes, to be hung from the library’s ceiling later this year.

“Coming here for knitting makes me aware of other things going on, like galleries and exhibitions,” says Laura Davies, 31, from Birmingham.

“I’ve never done this in a library before. It feels like more of a community thing; anyone can come in and use it, it’s not just for looking at books.”

Women attending a knitting session

 

 

About magerz

I am on a quest to fill the world with colour, happiness and craft! I currently run a knit & natter group which is very exciting, but soon i will branch out to take over the world...o.k. maybe not :)

Leave a Reply

